Council

SPECIAL MEETING OF BELFAST CITY COUNCIL

Held in the City Hall on Monday, 2nd October, 2017 at 6.00 p.m., pursuant to Notice.

Members present: The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor

(Councillor McAllister) (Chairperson);

the Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Copeland);

the High Sheriff (Alderman Haire);

Aldermen Browne, Convery, Kingston, McCoubrey; McGimpsey, L. Patterson, Rodgers and Sandford; and Councillors Armitage, Attwood, Austin, Beattie,

Bell, Boyle, Carson, Clarke, Collins, Corr,

Corr Johnston, Craig, Dorrian, Dudgeon, Garrett, Graham, Groves, Hargey, Heading, Howard, Hussey,

Hutchinson, Johnston, Long, Lyons, Magee, Magennis, McAteer, McCabe, McCusker, McDonough-Brown, McReynolds, McVeigh, Milne, Mullan, Newton, O'Donnell, O'Hara,

O'Neill, Reynolds and Walsh.

Apologies

Apologies were reported on behalf of Aldermen McKee, R. Patterson and Spence and Councillors Bunting, Campbell, McConville and Nicholl.

Summons

The Chief Executive submitted the summons convening the special meeting which had been called to consider a recommendation of the Strategic Policy and Resources Committee of 22nd September to elect and admit Sir Kenneth Branagh as a Freeman of the City of Belfast.

Freedom of the City

Moved by Alderman Kingston, Seconded by Alderman Convery and

Resolved – "This Council wishes to honour the outstanding achievements, over many decades, of Sir Kenneth Branagh in drama and cinema, as an actor, director, producer and screenwriter of international renown.

We record our pride in his many awards, including BAFTAs, Olivier Awards and an Emmy and his nominations for many others, including Academy and Golden Globe Awards.

Special Meeting of Council Monday, 2nd October, 2017

The Council acknowledges and appreciates that this son of Belfast, despite this international success, has maintained an active involvement with various voluntary sector organisations in Belfast and Northern Ireland.

Accordingly, the Council agrees that Sir Kenneth Branagh is hereby elected and admitted as a Freeman of the City and County Borough of Belfast."

Lord Mayor Chairperson